God Provides

I was recently driving from Denver to a small town in Nebraska called Franklin. About 40 miles from my final destination, while driving through a small town called Long Island, Kansas, my 95’ Blue Ford Explorer suddenly stopped moving forward when I pressed down on the gas pedal. It was by the grace of God that I was able to pull into a small gas station before I ran out of momentum. God provides.

I went looking for help. At a local burger place I met a man with some mechanical skills who was willing to come check out my problem. When he came over he slid under the car. After a few minutes of tinkering around he emerged and told me, ‘well, it’s nothing you can fix here on the side of the road.’ He said i should call for a tow. So,  I proceeded to start calling people, looking for someone to help. While waiting to hear back, I was sitting quietly and felt like God said, put it in 4 wheel drive low. So I did. With a lurch and a grind it started to move forward, slowly…but surly. God provides. So I drove the last 40 miles of my journey at 35 miles per hour.

Over the course of the next 2 weeks various men spent their valuable time helping me to work on my vehicle… for free. Hours of work, that would have cost me a fortune, for free. God provides. But even with all the work, we were not able to figure out the problem. So, it came time to make a decision. It was Saturday morning and I needed to be home by Saturday night. I decided to ditch ‘ol’ blue and call my fiancé to come pick me up.

As she was on her way though, one of the men who had already spent a bunch of time trying to help me told me that he was willing to trade me my car for one of his farm vehicles, an old 1991 Pontiac Bonneville. God provided.

So I called my fiancé and told her that she didn’t have to drive all the way out. And after thanking my farmer friend, I got into my new car and drove home, all the way back to Denver.

God is a provider. And I don’t mean he is a vending machine to give you all you ever wanted. I am the first person to call the prosperity Gospel a false one. But God has made us promises and he surly does come through on them. For instance in Matthew (6:25-34) when Jesus talks about not worrying because God provides for the birds and the flowers, so he will also provide for us. Jesus teaches us that when we seek His kingdom and His righteousness first, that God will provide for our needs. And it’s true, God always comes through on his promises. God provides!

Leave a Reply

